Wyoming CME Requirements

Wyoming CME Requirements

Meet Your Wyoming CME Requirements On-Demand

Wyoming requires 60 hours of CME for physicians every 3 years, with 1 hour in the area of controlled substances every 2 years for authorized prescribers.

Complete Wyoming's continuing medical education requirements for license renewal in one place. Earn mandatory CME credits and access the latest insights through our expert-designed, on-demand courses. Tailored for busy healthcare professionals, our offerings provide a convenient path to stay updated and compliant with Wyoming's regulations from anywhere.

Geographic shape of Wyoming in light blue representing CME requirements for controlled substances

Controlled Substances CME Course

Controlled Substance Prescribing



Controlled Substance Prescribing

Learn about key principles of managing controlled substances, including legislation and regulation of medical practice and controlled substances, DEA licensure requirements and responsibilities, required elements of controlled substance prescribing, and the importance of prescription drug monitoring programs and risk mitigation.

1 Hour
Text Module

Credits Include: 1.0 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit

Add to Cart

Target Audience: This activity is intended for all healthcare professionals authorized to dispense controlled substances by the state in which they practice.

Learning Objectives:

  • Explain DEA licensure requirements and responsibilities
  • Discuss required elements of controlled substance prescribing
  • Explain the rationale for risk mitigation strategies for controlled substance prescribing
  • Review indications, mechanisms, pharmacology, and forms of opioid therapy
  • Discuss opioid precautions, adverse events, and contraindications
  • Perform risk assessment, risk mitigation, and monitoring of opioid therapy

Background: This course was adapted from sections of the Clinical Care Options “Controlled Substance Prescribing and Substance Use Disorders—Comprehensive Education to Improve Quality of Care” program by Timothy Atkinson, PharmD, BCPS, CPE.

Release Date: Apr 1, 2024 | Expiration: Apr 1, 2027

Add to Cart

DEA MATE Act 8-Hour Training

DEA Course



DEA Course: Controlled Substance Prescribing and Substance Use Disorders - Comprehensive Education to Improve Quality of Care

Join us for a series of nine interactive modules led by experts on controlled substances, substance use disorders, pain management, and opioid therapies. Opt for video or text formats to learn at your own pace, in your preferred style. This program fulfills the DEA MATE Act's 8-hour training requirement on opioids, other substance use disorders, and pain management.

8 Hours
Video & Text Modules

Credits Include: Up to 8.0 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit, AANP, AAPA, AAFP, COPE CE, ADA CERP, MOC, and MIPS

Add to Cart

Target Audience: All Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA)-registered practitioners including physicians, podiatrists, dentists, nurse practitioners, nurse midwives, nurse anesthetists, clinical nurse specialists and physician assistants/physician associates who are authorized to dispense controlled substances by the state in which they practice.

Program Agenda:

  • Principles of Controlled Substance Prescribing
  • Risk Mitigation Strategies for Controlled Substances
  • Basics of Pain Management
  • Managing Opioid Therapy
  • Substance Use Disorders
  • Opioid Use Disorder
  • Alcohol Use Disorder
  • Tobacco and Cannabis Use Disorder
  • Stimulant and Sedative Use Disorder
  • Reimbursement Codes for SUD Intervention

Release Date: May 31, 2023 | Expiration: May 30, 2026

New to the DEA MATE Act 8-hour requirement? Learn more at the DEA Resource Center.

Add to Cart

Complete Your Remaining Continuing Education Hours with Our Expansive Library of Free CME Courses Across 10+ Therapeutic Areas

View Course Catalog

What are the Wyoming Medical License CME Requirements?

Wyoming Medical License CME Requirements

In the 2019 session of the Wyoming Legislature, new laws were enacted regarding the prescribing of controlled substances. These laws went into effect on July 1, 2019. One law requires physicians who are licensed in Wyoming, and are authorized by the Wyoming Board of Pharmacy to prescribe controlled substances, to complete at least one (1) hour of CME related to the responsible prescribing of controlled substances or the treatment of substance abuse disorders every two (2) years.

This information is in accordance with the Wyoming Board of Medicine. Please note that CME requirements are subject to change. We continue to make updates as we become aware of them. However, healthcare professionals should confirm the most current requirements with their state Board of Medicine for accuracy.